Page Banner




On Friday 24th June staff, parents, carers and friends bade a fond farewell to our leavers in the traditional manner at DLC – our annual leavers’ barbecue in the grounds of the Old Rectory.  The gathering resembled a village fair with bunting-adorned marquees making a little square that was a little cosier than in previous years now that our new Science classroom is in place.




The weather held nicely as our departing year 11s, their parents and carers, and staff enjoyed the hearty fare prepared by our own catering team whilst Katherine Seymour, our Acting Headteacher, prepared to make her address to begin the presentation of awards.

After recognising the endeavour of students and staff alike each Year 11 leaver was called up to receive their Record of Achievement to warm applause.

Later there were Curriculum and Special Awards to present and among the highest achievers recognised was Ali Jackson who received the coveted John Holland Award for special achievement in English as well as curriculum awards in Art and the ID Project.  Other high achievers included our Headteacher Award recipient Liam Hamilton who also picked up a certificate for his outstanding contribution to Life Skills. Charlie Glue also enjoyed great success as she won curriculum awards in three subjects – Child Development, Student Voice and Citizenship.  But this achievement was matched by Sydney O’Donovan who also topped the poll in three subject areas – Science Double Award, Geography and Religious Studies & Ethics.



Curriculum Award Winners




Luc Roscoe



Connor Lee



Aaron Bennett


Science Double Award

Sydney O’Donovan



Michael Read


Art at DLC

Gianni Fusco


Art at No. 51

Ali Jackson


Life Skills

Liam Hamilton



Sydney O’Donovan


Child Development

Charlie Glue



Aaron Bennett



Owen Padmore


Sport Leadership

Matt Cheshire



Edward Catton



Matthew Cheshire


Religious Studies & Ethics

Sydney O’Donovan


Student Voice

Charlie Glue & Luke Higson



Charlie Glue



John Morris


ID Project

Jon Morris & Ali Jackson




Special Award Winners




Aaron Bennett



Elliot Joy


John Holland Memorial Shield for English

Ali Jackson


Headteacher Award

Liam Hamilton



We wish all our leavers success and good fortune in the future.


These pictures and more appear in  The Gallery.